Top Long Beach Juvenile Defense Attorney   562-473-5390

Call Matt Now 310-686-1533

Has your child been arrested for a criminal offense?  It
can happen when you least expect it.  Your child is arrested
and charged with a criminal case or a DUI in Long Beach.  
Unlike the adult criminal justice system your loved one may
sit in jail without bail until his or her next court date, an
experienced juvenile Lawyer in Long Beach can help secure
their release and keep their record clean.  

Matthew is an experienced juvenile defense attorney with a
background working in one of the largest District Attorney
Juvenile Division Offices in the State of California prior to
becoming a private lawyer.

All legal experts agree that an adjudication of guilt on any
criminal charge can and indeed will have long lasting
consequences for a juvenile in the state of California.  
Interestingly, the AAA just completed a study that found
that an underage DUI can cost a young person over $20,000
in increased insurance, Court costs and other ancillary

Although, it may seem like the police are interested in your
child's best interest, this is often not the case.  You see, the
police are concerned only with finding the alleged
perpetrator and closing the case.  Only a Long Beach
Juvenile Defense Attorney will be interested in doing justice
and ensuring that your innocent loved one is kept out of jail
and brought back home.  Juvenile Defense Attorney
Matthew Ruff has experience on both sides of the fence, in
the District Attorneys office and for the past 25 years as a
defense attorney, fighting for the rights of the accused.

           Contact  Matthew Ruff Direct at 310-686-1533

California Juvenile law allows a Judge to remand or
"detain" a juvenile if a petition alleging criminal conduct is
filed by the District Attorney.  The law provides:  When a
child is not detained, a hearing on the petition must be held
within 30 days of the filing of the petition. In accordance
with Welfare & Institutions Code Section 657(a);  and
California  Rules of Court 5.774(a). The clerk of the
Juvenile Court must ensure that the petition or notice of
probation violation hearing and notice of initial hearing are
served personally or by first class mail on the child, each
parent or guardian, and any attorney of record at least ten
days before this initial hearing.  The clerk of the juvenile
court must also notify any foster or pre-adoptive  parents,
any legal  guardian, and any  relatives who are providing
care whose residence addresses become known If the child
does not appear at this hearing, the court may not detain the
child solely because of the failure to appear.  If the minor or
the parent or guardian does not appear, the court must order
personal service and notice.  Service may be waived  and
service on the juvenile attorney is equivalent to service on
the parent or guardian.  Furthermore, an arrest warrant may
be issued for a nondetained child under Welf & I C §663
solely on a showing that the child’s whereabouts are
unknown. If the child’s whereabouts are unknown, personal
service of the notice and a copy of the petition will not be

In addition, the juvenile court must advise the child and
parent or guardian of the following hearing rights at the
initial hearing :

• The right to an attorney at each stage of the proceedings;

• The right to assert the privilege against self-incrimination,
which means he or she does not need to explain what
involvement they may have had in the offense.;

• The right to confront and cross-examine those who
prepared police or probation reports or other documents
considered by the court, as well as any witness;

• The right to use the court’s process to compel the
attendance of witnesses on the child’s behalf; and

• The right to present relevant evidence.

Furthermore, in under 21 alcohol cases where the DMV sets
out to suspend a young person's license, a hearing is
required as a matter of right if it is demanded within 10 days
of the arrest.

The law in California mandates that immediately on filing
the petition or notice of probation violation hearing, the
district attorney or probation officer must notify the child
and each parent or legal guardian (if the whereabouts can be
determined using due diligence) of the time and place of the
detention  hearing.  Notification may be either oral or in
writing.  If a
Long Beach Juvenile Attorney is representing
the child and has notified the clerk of this fact, the Juvenile
Court must provide notice to that attorney in the same
manner as notification to the parent or guardian.  A legal
advocate can assist in mitigating the effects that an arrest
has on a young person's record.

For instance, Juvenile Lawyer Matthew Ruff resolved an
underage DUI in a case where the police detained the
individual outside a party.  The youngster was breathalyzed
and showed a .09 BAC level.  Matthew set up a DMV
hearing immediately and presented evidence that the alleged
underage driver was innocent of the charges, Result:  Set
Aside of the suspension on the DMV license.

In many cases the child, the parent or guardian, and counsel
may inspect police and probation reports and all other
documents that are filed with the court or that were made
available to the probation officer in preparing the probation
recommendation.  Once a petition is filed, the child is
entitled to discovery of these reports and any other
favorable evidence or information.  For over 25 years we
have been defending juvenile defendants in all Long Beach
and Los Angeles Courts.  Our track record  includes
dismissals for robbery charges, DUI, sexual assault,
attempted rape, burglary, gang allegations, theft charges,
alcohol possession, drugs, gun possession, DMV license
issues, weapons on school campus, vandalism, battery,
reckless driving, and internet crimes just to name a few.

If a loved one has been arrested and detained on a juvenile
DUI or criminal offense in the Long Beach Court, it is
imperative to contact a lawyer ASAP.  Our
long beach
criminal lawyers are experienced in securing the release of
minors who have been locked up and held by law
enforcement.  The juvenile justice system can be cold and
unsympathetic, having a local Long Beach Juvenile Lawyer
can help level the playing field

Call our Law Firm
toll free at 1-877-212-2090 for a free
case review and consultation for all juvenile criminal
DUI Cases, underage drinking, minor in possession,
drug possession, alcohol charges, felony cases, and all
police detentions on school campus.  Your child's future
depends on the actions you take now.  Do not risk the
freedom of a loved one to the whim and caprice of the
juvenile justice system without having a skilled advocate on
your side.

Indeed, the juvenile court system is complex and hard for
the lay person to understand.  Visit
Matthew on Google to
follow his articles, his postings about relevant legal issues
and video documentaries of important topics pertaining to
the criminal justice system in California.

Recently Matt defended a juvenile charged with DUI, Hit
and Run and Drug Charges after he struck several parked
cars and was contacted by Police,  Matt knew keeping the
young person's record clean was important because he was
planning on leaving home for college that spring.  Matthew
put together a case that persuaded the Judge and DA to
DISMISS ALL CHARGES so that his record remained

IF your child is facing serious criminal trouble call Matt
today for a free case review on his cell at 310-686-1533
Long Beach Juvenile Court
Long Beach Juvenile Law Firm
Top Long Beach Juvenile DUI Lawyer
Underage DUI Attorney
Long Beach Juvenile Attorney